top of page
  • mnicoara7

Reflective Essay

Throughout this course, Composition II, I had the opportunity to explore different writing styles and genres, which significantly helped me develop my writing skills. Both the Argument and Rhetorical Analysis essays played a key role in helping me improve my writing to an academic level. Also, these two major projects inspired me to read more artistic literature, I already forgot how captivating and fun it may be.

One of the key skills I have acquired during this English course was constructing a convincing argument. The Argument essay project taught me to pick a particular subject and to bring enough arguments to prove it. I learned the importance of forming a clear and strong thesis statement, the one that includes the main idea of the entire essay. By using the Point, Evidence, Explanation (PEE) format, I built each paragraph in such way that each main idea/point was argued by examples, explanations and the opinion of different authors. This model of writing made me understand the significance of proving each claim with solid evidence, which would make my essay a reliable source of information.

In the Rhetorical Analysis project, I discovered the art of analyzing and interpreting different writing styles and techniques used by authors in their works, for example absurdist fiction. This exercise helped me understand how a genre affects how an author writes, and how the reader reads. A bit challenging was to select the right quote from the text to support your point. I learned to follow the outline which helped me improve my ability to communicate complex ideas effectively.

This course not only taught me theoretical knowledge but also challenged me to go past my fear and apply it in practice. The teacher’s feedback helped me a lot in refining my skills. Also, the constructive criticism from the tutors played a significant role in my adventure of writing these projects. With each essay I pushed my limits and gained new knowledge. I found myself more confident at structuring arguments, using the right evidence, and maintaining a coherent flow in my writing. Looking back at this class, I can affirm that it was a very transformative experience. It encouraged me to bring my writing to a new level, and now I possess the necessary skills for correct and efficient essay writing. The course helped me develop my critical and analytical thinking, also to comprehend different texts from a different angle and to see what author is really trying to tell us, what is the message. I really enjoyed this course, and I will recommend it to anyone who seeks to improve their writing skills.



2 views

Comments


bottom of page